So, I Watch Miraculous Ladybug

miraculous

For those who don’t know what this is, it’s a 3D animation series about the adventures of the young Marinette Dupain-Cheng, her classmates (who are often akumatized by the villain of the show) and her crush, Adrien Agreste.

When something bad happens Marinette, let me quote Miraculous Ladybug wiki here “With her magical earrings, inhabited by a kwami named Tikki, she has the power of good luck and can transform into the superhero Ladybug,” Paris N° 1 heroine. Adrien (with his own kwami, Plagg) on the other side transforms into Chat Noir. Without knowing their true identities both work together to protect the city from Hawkmoth, our main villain here whose goal is to steal their powers, he does this, wait,  I’m going to quote Wikipedia now “by using his akuma, butterflies infused with black energy, to influence and transform everyday citizens into super villains”

I was so embarrassed when I started this series because it’s targeted towards kids (I guess?) I mean the show itself it’s really cliché and I guess the 3D animation attracts younger audience but it’s so addicting. I know I’m not the only 20 year old person who feels this way, believe me after watching all the episodes I spent hours looking at the tumblr tag and checking out the blogs to see how old were they. I’m pretty childish already and the last thing I needed was to watch kids’ shows. There’s nothing wrong with doing it though. I remember that same week one of my favorite youtubers uploaded her favorites of the month video and she mentioned Miraculous Ladybug and I was so happy because she’s my age and she watches it too!

Anyway, this is a really good animation. I don’t know how to explain it but while being cliché it also manages to be fresh and new. It’s cute, sweet, funny and each character minor or not it’s autentic.

ladybug
took it from here

Also if you’re into ships and otp’s this is definitely your series. I never saw a fandom have 4 different ships for the same two people (Adrinette, Marichat, Ladrien and LadyNoir). This is also one of the primal plots of the show, the fact that Marinette has a big, big crush on Adrien but Adrien only sees her as a classmate and Chat Noir (Adrien) loves Ladybug but she (Marinette) only has eyes for Adrien. FRUSTRATING!

I totally recommend it

J.A

ps: the theme song is so catchy.

 

Leave a Reply

