REVIEW: The Jungle Book

the jungle book.jpg

Hey people! After last post I decided I wanted to go a little light and do a Review of The Jungle Book which I saw on Friday.

A little background information: This movie was directed by Jon Favreau which for me was a plus since I’m a marvel fan and he directed the first two Iron Man movies aside from appearing in them, he directed Elf and though I’m not a big fan of this movie I know it has quite good reviews. Zathura and Cowboys & Aliens are also in his repertoire of well-known movies.

The voice cast is also something: Bill Murray playing Baloo, Ben Kingsley playing Bagheera, Idris Elba (swoons) plays Shere Khan, Lupita Nyongo’o (she’s amazing) plays Rashka, Scarlett Johansson gives voice to Kaa (Scarlett is my babe, I love her a lot since she gives life to one of my favorite comic characters also is the first time Kaa is portrayed as a female and if you stay until the end of the movie you can hear her sing in the credits) Giancarlo Esposito plays Akela and King Louie is played by Christopher Walken. Last but not least Mowgli is played by the amazing young actor, Neel Sethi, who I hope gets enough recognition because I thought he was incredible.

Ok, like I told you posts before (or not) I’m a big Disney fan… like big, big. So of course it’s a must for me to go to see Disney movies to the cinema. However, The Jungle Book is not one of those Disney classics I would say I love so I wasn’t so convinced about going to see it to the cinema. Sure I was going to enjoy it because it was Disney but I didn’t know if I should spend money on it or just wait until it’s on internet (illegally, you know)

I’m glad I decided to pay and watch it because it’s the kind of movie you need to see on the big screen. All the locations we see in the movie are totally made up, meaning computer generated and people might think that this gives some sort of fake image yet it was beautiful. These places are inspired in real ones from India but it’s like they have a more fantasy/magic look, more “Disney like” and they still manage to look real, I couldn’t believe this was made in a studio and not in a real jungle.

Same system was used to create the animal, and there are a lot of them! One of the first thoughts that came to my mind when I saw this movie was being made was that when animals talk in movies it looks horrible and very artificial but this was not the case for The Jungle Book. Though animals were fake they looked pretty much real.

Another pro for this movie is that it doesn’t follow the exact same story that the animated one. The Jungle Book (1967) was inspired by the book of the same name by Rudyard Kipling and the movie follows more the story of this book rather than the story of the classic Disney movie which I think is great because you don’t go to watch it thinking you already know the plot and what’s going to happen.

Neel Sethi (12) who plays Mowgli is absolutely amazing, I always admire actors who can do a good job when everything around you is green and you have to imagine what surrounds you and who you are talking to. I read that Jim Henson Company life-sized puppets were used to act alongside Mowgli to help Neel and serve as eye-lines.

I suck at reviewing, usually I just tell you what I saw and like (or sometimes didn’t) trying not to spoil you anything. Anyway I totally recommend this movie, I cried, I laughed and I sang which for me it’s the definition of totally worth it.

See ya!

PS: I want Bagheera and Baloo as parents please.

 

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Jungle Book”

Leave a Reply

