REVIEW: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This year started pretty amazing in terms of reading. After having read about 7 books last year I decided I needed more books in my life. Some people read 7 books per month! So to initiate my reader year I downloaded goodreads and try to get paper books (no pdf, Kindle or iBooks I mean)

I read this one in 3 days on February. It also took me a long time to buy it because they didn’t have it in English here in Argentina so I had to buy it online and go and get it to the place and, blah, blah. Let’s just say it wasn’t a walk to the local library. I discovered it because when the movie trailer based on the book came out some internet friends went crazy about it and I got curious.

What’s about? I’ll give you the goodreads summary

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

In my words basically it’s about Will and Lou who, at the beginning, have very different lives. Lou lives a simple one and Will loves adrenaline, traveling and… well, the good life. Because of an accident he ends up quadriplegic and with little desire to live. At the same time Lou find herself disoriented after losing her job that moves her from her comfort zone in which she stands at the beginning. They meet and stuff happens.

I never expected to get so shattered, I did then while reading it because part of me was like “Oh no, I know where this is going. Why did I get into this train of pain?” but when I sat down for the first time with a smile on my face and excitement in my hands for having the book in them all I thought was “Well I bet this one is going to be romantic.” All I knew was that it was romance book and that the guy was in a wheel chair. Besides, the cover gave you that “romantic fluffy” idea which is then broken as soon as you realize how realistic (yet enjoyable) the book is.

The reason I just now decided to do the review is because even though I read it three months ago I’m still not over it. When I finished reading it I put it down with the other books and never touched it again. At night I would stay awake staring at the ceiling sometimes just thinking about the book and life, death, choices, everything my mind took inside with “Me Before You” … yeah it affected me, so much that this was the first book I cried with. I never cry in books (maybe I did in some deaths of Harry Potter) but this one had me reading the pages and sobbing like a baby.

Besides the romantic side of the book (which if romance is not your cup of tea I believe you still will be enjoying the story) what it centers more is in Lou’s life and how it changes, her goals and what she wants. Then we have Will who we get to know from Lou’s eyes and even like this we get a little of what he feels since he’s the one whose pain is more notable.

Lou’s point of view is so easy and pleasant to read and she’s such a likeable character which is something I struggle a lot with in books. For some reason I never seem to completely like the main character but she’s funny and cute and someone who you would want around… at least me.

Even though I did cry and suffer while reading this I also laughed and enjoyed it, is a beautiful book. I can say I never read something quite like “Me Before You” before but I’m glad I did… even though every time I think about it I want to start crying. Do I recommend it? Absolutely. I gave it 5 stars in goodreads.

The movie will be released on June 3 with the amazingly cute Emilia Clarke (as Lou) and the one actor that always manages to make me cry over his characters, Sam Claflin (really Sam, please try to move to comedy or something and stop making me cry) Jenna Coleman (aka one of my favorite companions in Doctor Who) and Matthew Lewis (aka the actor who plays my second favorite Harry Potter character) are on it too.

I so don’t want to go to watch this movie because I know I will cry like crazy and suffer a lot and even though I will laugh because Lou is a really funny character who gets into very interesting situations I also know I will start crying because I will remember everything that happens.

I will watch it anyways because this book owns me. I hope it calls your attention…

See ya!

P.S: This book has a sequel which I didn’t read because I liked the end of this one and it’s not really necessary to read the second one as I have been told.

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes”

    1. Goodreads helped me a lot in terms of finding the type books I dig. And yeah I know how you feel, finding a good time to read can be hard when you have courses, classes, etc… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

