REVIEW: X-Men Apocalypse

x-men apocalupse

We had a new Marvel movie in theaters last week and I’m ready to talk about it. I probably love all the X-Men movies and their characters though I admit I prefer the Avengers. Possibly because I read more Avengers comics rather than X-Men ones. I always get so confused with them, I have read a few though.

In this movie some years have passed since X-Men: Days of Future Past, Charles in dealing with Xavier’s School for Gifted Youngsters and Erik is dealing with his new secret life. Both old friends haven’t seen each other since and things seem to go well. But because is a movie trouble always finds the main characters.

From the start we can see the movie has a huge production. The plot follows Apocalypse an ancient mutant believed to be the first one who awakens again and like every villain ever tries to take over the world. He carries his 4 horsemen with him, in this case Storm (my fave), Archangel, Psylocke and Magneto. Of course Erik joining the horsemen brings trouble in mutant paradise city (Xavier School), specially to Charles and Raven.

I don’t want to spoil too much but overall X-Men Apocalypse was a great movie. If you have been following the X-Men cinematic universe then you’ll understand a bit more that if you didn’t watch the others, plus I know the timeline can get a bit messy. I’m still trying to figure out if this one or Days of Future Past was my favorite. What’s also interesting about Apocalypse is that we get to meet again Jean Grey (Phoenix), Scott Summers (Cyclops), Ororo Munroe (Storm) and Kurt Wagner (Nightcrawler) as teenagers and I don’t know about you but I always love when we get to see flashbacks of characters as kids or teenagers, here we get a whole movie!

This new/old characters were really great and boosted the film aswell. We also get to see a little of Jubilee too though I wish we could have seen more and that’s probably my only complain about the movie. Other characters worth mentioning are Quicksilver and Moira Mactaggert. I love Rose Byrne so I’m really happy she was back and Peter might possibly have stolen the movie with his funny and quick comments.

Though the “Take over the world” villain plot is old, the movie remains pretty stable, the action scenes are well used with a great soundtrack accompanying and all the characters are amazing. Of course I wish we could  have seen some of them speak more like Psylocke or Storm but they took a great place in the fighting scenes.

So here’s the general list of things I like

  • Jean and Scott relationship throughout the movie, cuties!
  • Erik and Charles relationship, always (I ship that so hard guys)
  • Kurt being all cute and interacting with Raven.
  • Quicksilver in general.
  • Oscar Isaac as Apocalypse.
  • Wolverine appearance that I’m not spoiling because we saw him in the trailer.
  • Mental fight!
  • Hank in general, he’s such a nice character.
  • Ororo, my favorite X-Men.
  • Psylocke and Warren (Archangel)
  • Soundtrack so powerful!

See ya!

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: X-Men Apocalypse”

Leave a Reply

