MOVIE: Twelfth Night or What You Will (1996)

twelfth night

What’s up people, I hope you’re doing great. Genuinely great and not the “I’m great!” but what really means is “I want Satan to take my soul so I can be in peace :)”

As you may know… or not, actually not because I never told, this year I started watching all the adaptations of the Shakespeare plays I read. Yesterday was Twelfth Night. For those who don’t know what’s about I’m going to give you the Wikipedia summary:

The play centres on the twins Viola and Sebastian, who are separated in a shipwreck. Viola (who is disguised as a boy) falls in love with Duke Orsino, who in turn is in love with the Countess Olivia. Upon meeting Viola, Countess Olivia falls in love with her thinking she is a man.

I’m not going to do a review about the film because I like doing reviews about new movies and this one is 20 years old. However I am going to say this was a nice movie. The play brings a lot of gender issues, I thought so it was interesting to see it besides reading it. It had a beautiful scenario set in Cornwell, England. Olivia’s house in particular was incredible. And of course, a good cast. I never saw Imogen Stubbs in a movie but she did great as Viola/Cesario, Helena Bonham Carter (Olivia), Ben Kingsley (Feste) and Imelda Staunton (Maria) were the only actors I knew here. Oh and fun fact: Maggie Smith’s son plays Orsino

I actually decided to this post because… I don’t know I like doing posts and talk about movies and stuff and if by any chance you cross paths with this movie you’ll think “Oh I saw a post about this movie, let’s see if it was right about what it said” or something like that.

I’ll leave you the trailer here

see ya!

 

Leave a Reply

