WEB SERIES: Call Me Katie

Photo May 31, 5 06 00 PM

Time to talk about one of my favorite things in the universe again, LITERARY WEB SERIES! YAY!

Since “Green Gables Fables” ended I had no more web series to watch, So on sunday because I was dying of boredom to the point of thinking about watching The Lizzie Bennet Diaries again I discovered this web series called “Call Me Katie”, an adaptation of The Taming of The Shrew by William Shakespeare. I read this play when I was really young because I was in love with the movie 10 Things I Hate About You. I already knew about this series actually but it never really called my attention until now.

First of all, I know The Taming of The Shrew has a lot of sexism discussion and Call Me Katie dealt with it extraordinarily and with amazing humor. The web series has 50 video, we have Katie Minola (Katherina Minola) who is a feminist that doesn’t like being called Kate and Peter Glover (Petruchio) who is the kind of guy who would ask why it’s called feminism if it’s equality and why not humanitarianism, which is a word that has its own movement, or equalitarism (he actually says this)

Anyway the adaptation goes more or less like this: Bianca wants to date, she even has three guys who like her but her mom has an explicit rule, Bianca dates if Katie has a boyfriend and Katie “hates” boys because of the patriarchy (or something like that but I’m sure patriarchy is involved) On the other side, George Bates and George Gleeson are best friends. Bates likes Bianca and their new friend Luke who just changed schools likes her too. Harry, another friend, also likes her so they decide to pay Peter Glover, who hates Katie, to date Bianca’s sister so Bianca can go out with one of them… and it goes on from that.

Call Me Katie discusses a lot of really important subjects like sexuality, feminism and sexual abuse. I think it’s a great web series. There was a moment where I was not even paying attention if they followed Shakespeare’s plot or not because I really got into it. What I really liked about it is that their characters are not perfect. From the beginning I knew Peter was kind of problematic because of his way of thinking, he meant well though. But Katie who I loved since the beginning was also flawed. Bianca who is portrayed as the perfect smart and beautiful girl has also made mistakes, I like the fact that they all have flaws and nobody is perfect.

The dynamic of the web serie reminded me a lot of Nothing Much to Do (NMTD) and you know, or not if you didn’t read my posts, that NMTD is my favorite web serie ever. I’m really happy I found this one but I’m really sad I ended it. There were moments where I would be in my bed alone laughing out loud, it’s really funny, sadly it was quite short.

If you want to know more about Literary Web Series read my post here!

See ya!

Leave a Reply

