MOVIE REVIEW: Finding Dory

kept swimming

Last week I had the chance to go and see Finding Dory, not only was I excited about it because it’s a Disney/Pixar movie but also because Dory has a special place in my childhood, I still remember being 7 and going to see Finding Nemo in theaters.

Let’s talk about the movie and try not to spoil anything. Like the title clears it out this movie is about Dory and her journey. As you may know she has short-term memory and though she remembers Nemo and Marlin because she sees them every day her childhood and origin are a mystery to her… until she does remember something, she gets a glimpse of memory of the past that takes her to the idea that she had a family and she needs to find them. With that, Dory , Nemo and Marlin start a new adventure full of new charming characters and really cool places.

If I had to choose between the first and the second one I think I definitely would stay with this one. First of all because although Finding Nemo is part of my childhood my sister was the one who was more obsessed with it. See I have a complicated relationship with Pixar movies and only now I’m starting to really value them. When I was young I used to love them but I would get tired of them really quickly (except The incredibles, I love that movie) And maybe it was that my sister’s bed was full of stuffed animals in the shape of Nemo, Dory and Marlin or the fact that she used to watch the movie everyday just like I used to watch The Lion King everyday when I was her age, must be a family thing.

I found the movie (I did something there hehe) really dynamic in terms of the spaces it takes place. The new characters were amazing and funny and I was glad that we also got to see old ones like Crush and Mr. Ray. I would however have loved to see those sharks again, they were hilarious. What I also loved about this film is how well handled Dory’s illness is, I got so emotional with it. It’s funny how a movie without any major tragedy like brutally killing the family at the first part of the movie (ahem, Finding Nemo, ahem) can make me cry like a baby… or maybe that’s just me I see a bit of emotion in a scene and I’m already crying, you have to always have in mind you’re reading a review of a person that literally cries during all of The Lion King. Yeah, not just Mufasa’s death, ALL the movie, even in Hakuna Matata.

The colors of the movie also caught my attention a lot,Β I feel the need to point it out because some scenes had really beautiful art. And finally but not less important the soundtrack and the song at the end on the credits, simply incredible. I saw the movie two times and even in the second one I stayed listening to Sia’s Unforgettable (cover) because it was really beautiful (and is now on my Apple Music songs)

I’ll leave it here for you to listen cause I really, really loved it.

3 thoughts on “MOVIE REVIEW: Finding Dory”

Leave a Reply

